No wisdom in leaving a revealed religion to join Atheism, just for convenience

Please view paarsurrey’s comments: blog, topic, link below:

“The Calladus Blog” topic “What I believe”
http://calladus.blogspot.ca/

https://www.blogger.com/comment.g?blogID=5736821&postID=1351504333661851099&page=1&token=1393453221002

Paarsurrey says: (still awaiting moderation from the blog owner)

@Calladus : 25/2/14 9:21 PM: 26/2/14 8:07 AM

I was not even implying to that. I know that you are an atheist, not a Christian. My point was that though you studied Christianity intensively and other religions not up-to that level; yet your study of or research of revealed religions was impaired only because you did not have a right tool or principle of comparative study of religions ; and then you all of a sudden decided to become an Atheist, just for convenience.

I had suggested you to read a book “THE PHILOSOPHY OF THE TEACHINGS OF ISLAM” by Mirza Ghulam Ahmad 1835-1908- the Promised Messiah; I again give its link below:

http://www.alislam.org/library/books/Philosophy-of-Teachings-of-Islam.pdf

This was an essay written by Mirza Ghulam Ahmad 1835-1908 read at a conference of great religions held at Lahore in the then British India, in the year 1896.

The very first sentence of the essay reads “It is necessary that a claim and the reasons in support of it must be set forth from a revealed book.”

I use to describe it as a “Golden rule for comparative study of revealed religions”; and this principle is explained in the next two pages by Mirza Ghulam Ahmad:

Quote:

“In this auspicious Conference the purpose of which is that those who have been invited to participate in it should expound the merits of their respective religions with reference to the questions that have been formulated. I shall today set forth the merits of Islam. Before I proceed to do so I deem it proper to announce that I have made it obligatory upon myself that whatever I state will be based upon the Holy Quran which is the Word of God Almighty.

I consider it essential that everyone who follows a book, believing it to be revealed, should base his exposition upon that book and should not so extend the scope of his advocacy of his faith as if he is compiling a new book.

As it is my purpose today to establish the merits of the Holy Quran and to demonstrate its excellence, it is incumbent upon me not to state anything which is not comprehended in the Quran and to set forth everything on the basis of its verses and in accord with their meaning and that which might be inferred from them, so that those attending the Conference should encounter no difficulty in carrying out a comparison between the teachings of different religions.

As all those who believe in a revealed book will also confine themselves to statements comprised in their respective revealed books, I shall not make any reference to the traditions of the Holy Prophet, inasmuch as all true traditions are only derived from the Holy Quran which is a perfect book comprehending all other books.

In short this is the day of the manifestation of the glory of the Holy Quran and I humbly beseech God Almighty to assist me in this undertaking. Amin. “ Unquote

Had one known this principle before; I think one’s decision would have been different.

One is welcome to try it now; if one pleases.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

