One could believe in on witnessing of others

I commented on the blog < http://independentsguide.wordpress.com/2013/07/16/its-not-only-2/> and then a discussion ensued; the same is given here-under for the viewers of this blog.

 

  1. @ Argus

    Quote from your post
    If you had to write; would’t it had been better if you have visited it?

    Thanks

    Argus Says:
    July 16, 2013 at 10:43 pm | 

    I’m an older guy in New Zealand carefully balancing a budget—budget doesn’t allow for popping over to all (or any) of the things that most intrigue me. So I have to rely on other folks …

    Sadly many folks are either easily deluded (stage magicians, priests, and politicians make a good living from it) or look at different aspects of whatever’s there than I would. Some are out to impress; many just gush. So I sift the sand an hope to find a gem or two.

    • paarsurrey Says:
      July 17, 2013 at 4:35 pm | 

      So one could benefit from the witnessing of other persons who have seen or observed another phenomenon or experience themselves till such times that one has is able to experience/witness them oneself.

      If we carry this reasoning forward; the messengers prophets have seen/witnessed the one true God themselves; one should benefit from their experience.

      Don’t you agree with it?

      Thanks for visiting my blog and sharing your thoughts.

      New Zealand is a good country.

    • I don’t believe in angels (have never met one) any more than I believe in gnomes, imps, elves, and goblins (never met one of those either). I also cannot believe in the Abrahamic God any more than in Odin, Vishnu, Aphrodite, Isis (insert name of own choice here, and there’s millions of them).

      By the same token I’ve never floated in space or set foot on the moon; yet somehow I’m hard-wired to give more credibility to the eyewitness reports of those guys than ‘angels’.

      My own sister is a spiritualist medium who talks routinely to dead guys. Sadly the dead guys all seem to say the same stuff, and when I asked her for the coded message agreed between our Father and I before he passed away; no joy. She tried, a few wild stabs and educated guess, but ol’ Dad was a bit remiss with the codes (I guess crossing over must’ve wiped his memory a bit.) To each his own …

      • If you don’t believe in angles; you miss one pillar of the true faith.

        • I miss most of the pillars—

          I do believe that people should be nice to each other, and get along like rational reasoning (dare I say ‘compassionate’?) beings.

          Instead we have vicious slaughter, stonings, burnings at the stake, crusades, torture, beheadings, napalm, holy war etc etc all in the name of the One True God (insert deity of own choice here) (there’s lots of them). Not good.

          • The Humanists must have to be nice with others; otherwise they shall have to morally change their name from the Humanist as they had previously changed from Atheist, a meaningless name, in my opinion.

            You have however been nice to me; a man committed to reason must be.

            Anyway I will call them with the name they like for themselves.

            Pillars are important for a building, you know.

            • A building is no good without a reliable foundation (even the Bible says as much); and yes, as an atheist I am allowed to quote from it … peace …

  2. Our friend Argus never visited the pyramids in Egypt; but preferred to comment on their construction; merits and demerits. The same way he could believe in the one true God on the witnessing of messengers and the prophets. If not, why not?

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “One could believe in on witnessing of others”

  1. Argus Says:

    Argus / July 21, 2013
    The pyramids are there (I’m told). Enough different people describe them in exactly the same way. I never went down on the Titanic either, but …

    God is there, (I’m told). Enough different people describe him in enough absolutely contradictory terms and give Him/Them so totally different characters and forms and names and everything else to make me think that the universe has more gods than people. Or folks create gods to suit their purposes.

    You’ve obviously found the one out of many thousands (millions throughout history if truth be known) of One True Gods that suits you best. Flavour of the week for you seems to be Allah, and I dare say that very clever people are reinforcing your beliefs every day following a very clever business plan and format.

    Scientologists and other cults do exactly the same—it works well, why should I knock it? They make a buck and it’s all tax free; being uninvolved what possible grounds for complaint could I have?

    My values are my own, distilled from offerings over a lifetime. I don’t like seeing them violated even if not involved personally. It doesn’t do me any good to see a man beating a dog, or child, even if it is his dog/kid and on his property. Different values.

    What time is the next compassionate stoning due, in Mecca? When is the next woman going to get a hundred lashes for talking to a man not her husband in Afghanistan? When is the next female genital mutilation due in Paris or Birmingham? Not my values at all. I don’t like contradictions, it’s that simple. Nothing contradictory about the pyamids, just the interpretations given them by clever men out to feather their own nests and prestige.

    I can always go to the pyramids, and if I win Lotto I shall. When I get there I’ll see the truth of them. I can also go into any temple, mosque, shrine, church etc etc and even with an open heart after having admired the (possibly gold, marble, and or ivory) (not cheap) construction and decor can almost guarantee that I will not be touched by the Hand of God(s).

    You never read my post on ‘Jesus 78′ either, it provides an illustration but I’ve forgotten what the title is. You probably wouldn’t like it anyway.

    • paarsurrey Says:

      Quoting your words:
      “It doesn’t do me any good to see a man beating a dog, or child, even if it is his dog/kid and on his property. ”

      I also don’t like that.
      Did Muhammad or Jesus or Moses or Krishna or Buddha or Zoroaster or Socrates ever beat a dog.
      Please quote from them.

    • paarsurrey Says:

      Quoting your words:
      “You never read my post on ‘Jesus 78′ either”; I will look into your post at your blog; hope I will find it; then we will discuss it.
      Take me as your friend; I don’t despise the Atheists.
      It will be a friendly discussion.

      Thank

  2. Argus Says:

    Oops, just read your letterhead, “peaceful Muslim”. An interesting concept …

  3. Argus Says:

    “Did Muhammad or Jesus or Moses or Krishna or Buddha or Zoroaster or Socrates ever beat a dog …”

    I have no idea. Interesting that you should bring this up, as nothing I said even suggested such a thought. Did they, though?

Leave a Reply

