Why I’m an atheist and Pascal’s Wager.

Paarsurrey says:

I like your last sentence “God demands that I truly believe, he would certainly know if my faith was not genuine, which gives me a one way ticket to eternal torture (for the finite “crime” of disbelief). Pascal’s Wager fails in a very short paragraph.”

In religion, as it deals in ethical, moral and spiritual matters the faith should be based on reason, experiences and Word of revelation; in science as it deals in physical and material realities faith is based on reason and on reliable experiments.

Please read my post on “Pascals wager or betting/gambling made easy by Wikipedia” and my comments on it:

https://paarsurrey.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/pascals-wager-or-bettinggambling-made-easy-by-wikipedia/

Infidelineate

I remember sitting in a church during my best friends funeral (while I was still a Christian), waiting for the services to begin, and picking up the Bible that was sitting on the pew situated in front of me. I began reading the book of Genesis, and shortly found my way to Genesis 9:8-15, it reads:

“8 Then God said to Noah and to his sons with him: 9 “I now establish my covenant with you and with your descendants after you 10 and with every living creature that was with you—the birds, the livestock and all the wild animals, all those that came out of the ark with you—every living creature on earth. 11 I establish my covenant with you: Never again will all life be destroyed by the waters of a flood; never again will there be a flood to destroy the earth.”

12 And God said, “This…

View original post 591 more words

2 Responses to “Why I’m an atheist and Pascal’s Wager.”

  1. infidelineate Says:

    Thanks a lot! I never expected to receive a response to my blogs… I hope that they’re insightful, though when I reread them, they seem scattered and unstructured. I’m new to wordpress, and I don’t really know how tag things correctly, or respond, but I’m glad someone appreciates my posts.

    • paarsurrey Says:

      Hi

      Thanks for your e-mail.

      The key words in a post may be put in the tags slot and one or two of them in the category slot. When one submits a post wordpress also suggests some tags blinking in the left; on could also add them just by clicking each of them.

      Welcome at wordpress. Whenever you write a post; you may e-mail it to me; I will reblog it with my comments.

      I will also like your comments on my posts in my blog.

      Regards

Leave a Reply

