Why striking resemblance between the moral teaching of the Buddha and that of Jesus??!!

The Second Coming 1835-1908 says:

There is, moreover, another resemblance between the Buddha and Jesus: Buddhism records that the Buddha during the Temptation was fasting; that the fast lasted for forty days. Readers of the Gospel know that Jesus also observed a forty days’ fast.

As I have just now stated, there is such a striking resemblance between the moral teaching of the Buddha and that of Jesus, that for those acquainted with both it has become something surprising.

For example, the Gospels say: do not resist evil, love your enemy, live in poverty, shun pride and falsehood and greed. The same is the teaching of the Buddha6. Nay, the Buddhistic teaching lays greater stress on it, so much so that the killing even of ants and insects has been declared a sin.

The outstanding principle of Buddhism is: sympathy for the whole world; seeking the welfare of the whole of humanity and of all the animals; promotion of a spirit of unity and mutual love. The same is the gospel teaching. Again, just as Jesus sent his disciples to different countries — journeying to one himself — so was the case with the Buddha.

Buddhism by Sir Monier Monier Williams records that the Buddha sent out his disciples to preach, addressing them thus: ‘Go forth and wander everywhere, out of compassion for the world and for the welfare of gods and men. Go forth, in different directions. Preach the doctrine (Dharham), salutary (Kalayana) in its beginning, middle and end, in its spirit (artha) and in its letter (vyanjana). Proclaim a life of perfect restraint, chastity and celibacy (Drahmacariyam). I will go also to preach this doctrine’ (Mahavagga 1.11.1)7.

The Buddha went to Benares and performed many miracles in that territory; he delivered an impressive sermon on a hill just as Jesus had delivered his sermon on the mount. Again, the same book states that the Buddha preached mostly in parables; he explained spiritual matters by means of physical analogies.

Let it be remembered that this moral teaching and this mode of preaching, i.e., talking in parables, was the method of Jesus. This mode of preaching and this moral teaching, combined with other circumstances, at once suggest that this was in imitation of Jesus.

Jesus was here in India; he went preaching everywhere; the followers of the Buddhist Faith met him, and finding him a holy person who worked miracles, recorded these things in their books; nay, they declared him to be the Buddha, for it is human nature to try to acquire a good thing for oneself wherever it may be, so much so, that people try to record and remember any clever remark made by any person before them.

It is, therefore, quite likely that the followers of the Buddhist Faith may have reproduced the entire picture of the Gospels in their books; as for example, fasting for forty days both by Jesus and the Buddha; the Temptation of both; the birth of both being without father8, the moral teaching of both; both calling themselves the Light, both calling themselves Master and their Companions disciples; just as Matthew, chapter 10 verses 8 and 9, states: ‘Provide neither gold, nor silver, nor brass in your purses,’ so the Buddha gave the same command to his disciples; just as the Gospel encourages celibacy, so does the teaching of the Buddha; just as there was an earthquake when Jesus was put on the Cross, so it is recorded, these was an earthquake at the death of the Buddha.

All these points of resemblance arise from the fact of Jesus’ visit to India, which was a piece of good luck for the followers of the Buddhist Faith, from his staying among them for a considerable time and from Buddhists acquiring a good knowledge of the facts of his life and of his noble teaching.

Consequently, it was inevitable that a great part of that teaching and ceremonial should find its way into Buddhistic records for Jesus was respected and taken for the Buddha by the Buddhists. These people, therefore, recorded his sayings in their books and ascribed them to the Buddha.

http://www.alislam.org/library/books/jesus-in-india/ch4.html

77

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 Responses to “Why striking resemblance between the moral teaching of the Buddha and that of Jesus??!!”

  1. paul8bee Says:

    “”The outstanding principle of Buddhism is: sympathy for the whole world; seeking the welfare of the whole of humanity and of all the animals; promotion of a spirit of unity and mutual love””

    Good quote there.

    I too see a parallel to Jesus and Buddha.
    The one influenced the other. Maybe both influence each other?
    Buddha lived before Christ by some 500 years.
    I further believe that the spirit that drove these two individuals existed long before either of them were born. The spirit is eternal, as I see it. Every now and again, thou, some exceptional persons will have such an abundance of spirit , that it just overflows. Lucky for the rest of us.

    • paarsurrey Says:

      paul8bee says:

      “”The outstanding principle of Buddhism is: sympathy for the whole world; seeking the welfare of the whole of humanity and of all the animals; promotion of a spirit of unity and mutual love””

      Good quote there.

      I too see a parallel to Jesus and Buddha.

      The one influenced the other. Maybe both influence each other?

      Buddha lived before Christ by some 500 years.

      Paarsurrey says:

      Hi friend paul8bee

      Welcome to my blog. I appreciate your peaceful, soft and good comments here. I will be pleased to discuss things with you.

      In fact, I visited your blog today and found out good posts and other stuff there of my interest. I would have liked to share my views with you, but somehow, my comments on other blogs are not published; so I would be sometimes quoting/coping stuff from your blog and expressing in my own blog of which you also would know. I think you would like this arrangement also.

      I love Jesus and Mary

      Thanks

      I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

      • paul8bee Says:

        “””I would have liked to share my views with you, but somehow, my comments on other blogs are not published; so I would be sometimes quoting/coping stuff from your blog and expressing in my own blog of which you also would know.””

        I found out where your comments went to on my blog. Then ended up in the WordPress Comments ‘SPAM” folder. I had to go in there and approve them one by one. I did not intend for any comments to be put there, it seems to just put comments in there that it thinks are spam. There is a lot of spam that was in there. I wish people would not send spam.

        In any case, whatever I write is yours for the taking if you want it. Once an idea is published on the internet, we loose control of it, permanently. It makes me want to be more accurate when I write things.
        I have read some of my own comments that I have posted in the past, and asked myself, “what idiot would say a thing like that”, and then realized that idiot was me.
        Also, some things that I delete are still around somewhere on a server someplace. It means that my written past is still out there, someplace, in cyberspace. I just hope it does not come back and bite me in the rear.
        By the way, I am also an extremely non violent person.
        thanks for the dialog.

    • paarsurrey Says:

      paul8bee says:

      I too see a parallel to Jesus and Buddha.
      The one influenced the other. Maybe both influence each other?
      Buddha lived before Christ by some 500 years.

      Paarsurrey says:

      Hi friend paul8bee

      We agree that Jesus and Buddha had similarities in teachings and some accounts of their life.

      Would you kindly elaborate as to how this would have happened, unless they had an equal status? The Catholics Protestants, I don’t know which denomination you belong to, believe as per Bible that Jesus was god. If Buddha and Jesus had so many similarities that must entail that the Catholics Protestants should logically believe Buddha their god also or they should deny godhead to either of them justifiably; and simply believe both being Messengers Prophets of God Allah YHWH in different and distant lands.

      How you would perceive this phenomenon, please.

      I love Jesus and Buddha

      Thanks

      I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

    • paarsurrey Says:

      paul8bee says:

      I further believe that the spirit that drove these two individuals (Jesus and Buddha) existed long before either of them was born.

      Paarsurrey

      says:

      Hi friend paul8bee

      How do you believe that the spirits of Buddha and Jesus existed long before they were physically born?

      Do you think that all spirits exist before their physical birth? Who created these spirits? These are the logical questions that arise in one’s mind, if we think on these lines as stated by you.

      They were born with a distance of time of 500 years. How did the contact each other; who arranged these meetings?

      I love Jesus and Buddha

      Thanks

      I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

      • paul8bee Says:

        How are you.
        I try not to get to caught up in religious theory. There is just too so much theory around that it tends to confuse people more than it enlightens them. I consider myself to be a Theologist, this means that I would be a fool to join in any organized religion. I study Truth, not Dogma.
        The truth should be plain and simple to understand.
        I understand things like this.

        The physical body is controlled by the physical brain. ‘but the physical brain is controlled by the spirit. Different physical persons can be of one spirit. As new born human beings come into this world, the bodies they receive are new, but the spirit that controls them is ageless. It is the same spirit that has driven people people since the begin of time.
        God is spirit as I understand things. We are in reality controlled by god.

        Jesus and Buddha were both physical human beings like you and I, but they had in them a spirit of helpfulness, and a spirit of love and a spirit of compassion. (god is not just AC/DC. The realm of the spirit is very broad.)
        Jesus and Buddha did not need to talk to each other to discuss theology or points of view, this is because they were both of the same spirit. Driven by the same Spirit of Altruism, and Truth, they came to the same or similar conclusions.
        Now as I see it, we all have spirit in us. some of it evil and some of it good. The evil spirit causes suffering, death and pain, the good spirit causes happiness and peace.
        I know that Buddha monks traveled west and spread their knowledge in the east, by traveling the silk road.
        This is why I think that the west, was influence by the east. But it is also possible people from the west traveled east, and spread their influence there also.

        The main point I am trying to make, is , that it does not matter “WHERE” the teachings came from. Truth has always existed, with or without human beings. Truth is evident to anyone who cares to seek it. Truth is about discovery. Anyone who deep in his heart wants to know what is real and what is not, will find nothing to stop them, except a spirit of denial, or a spirit of indifference.
        The spirit of adventure, and a spirit of inquiry: the spirit of truth, and the spirit justice: the spirit of good, and the spirit of helpfulness, (which all come from god)will lead
        the way.
        All paths lead to the top of the mountain. The only one who will not reach the summit is the one who circles the base, and makes no attempt to climb.

    • paarsurrey Says:

      paul8bee says:

      I further believe that the spirit that drove these two individuals existed long before either of them were born. The spirit is eternal, as I see it.

      Paarsurrey says:

      Hi friend paul8bee

      May God Allah YHWH bless you!

      Sorry, I don’t get your point. Please elaborate further.

      God Allah YHWH is not a spirit or soul. God is only a being of attributes needing no body or soul. All physical and spiritual bodies have been created by Him; since God is the Creator, so by definition He is not a created spirit. Further, a spirit cannot exist without a body, so unless a body of future living thing reaches a stage fit to be living, the spirit or soul by the command of God Allah YHWH naturally grows and evolves from within the fetus, and lo a child starts breathing.

      This is clearly mentioned in Quran-the Secure Word of God, not without reason but with clear arguments and it is understandable.

      Buddha died 500 years before the birth of Jesus. Unless Jesus himself went to Tibet and India and followers of Buddha due to his prophecy about coming of Metteyya/Messiah/Christ accepted Jesus, there seems no possibility of the similarities between the teachings and deeds of Jesus and Buddha.

      The spirits do not act this ways as the spirits are not eternal but a creation of God Allah YHWH.

      Kindly therefore elaborate further your concept and its basis.

      I love Jesus and Mary as mentioned in Quran and not as presented by Paul or the sinful scribes.

      Thanks

      I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

      • paarsurrey Says:

        paul8bee says:

        How are you?

        I try not to get too caught up in religious theory. There is just too so much theory around that it tends to confuse people more than it enlightens them. I consider myself to be a Theologist; this means that I would be a fool to join in any organized religion. I study Truth, not Dogma.
        The truth should be plain and simple to understand.

        Paarsurrey says:

        Hi friend paul8bee

        May God Allah YHWH bless you!

        I am fine with the grace of Allah.

        I am OK, with if you are a Theologist; I am just an ordinary man in the street. I love a person and his company who follows the truth and not the Dogma. I agree that the truth should be plain and simple to understand as it is for the benefit of the masses; Jesus was such a truthful person until Paul hijacked his teachings and acts and complicated everything with his own Theological Philosophy to his own benefit, it is another thing that God punished Paul for his wrongs in terms of Deuteronomy.

        The Message of God Allah YHWH received through truthful Messengers Prophets has always been very simple; one could see this message in the life accounts of Noah or Moses or Jonah. One could observe it oneself. They received Word from God in a simple one to one basis, needing no witnesses, as that tantamount to doubts. Would Noah or Moses or Jonah doubt with who they were in conversation? Jesus was also one like that.

        It is the Church who created false Witnesses. One could ask the scribes what and why they were witnessing. If they had not born; would that had effected the truthfulness of Jesus? Jesus never needed cunning Paul or the sinful scribes as witnesses. God Allah YHWH had selected Jesus and he was sufficient for the witnessing and support. This is very simple to understand.

        I love Jesus and Mary as mentioned in Quran and not as presented by Paul or the sinful scribes.

        Thanks

        I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

  2. paul8bee Says:

    I have elaborated on my topic. I think I am a little more clear now. I do appreciate the input. I find it harder to write than it is to talk.
    In talking I can quickly correct myself and can easily respond to questions. But in writing, I have to get it right the first time.
    Writing helps me to think more clearly too.
    Well have a good day, and thank you for the dialog.

    http://paulscave.wordpress.com/theology/jeus-exists-formatted-version/#20.BUDDHA%20and%20JESUS%20similarities|outline

    • paarsurrey Says:

      Hi friend paul8bee

      I understand.

      Keep the contact and take care of you.

      Thanks

      I am an Ahmadi peaceful Muslim

      • paul8bee Says:

        hey .
        long time no type
        Are you still there?

        I have read the transcripts of a dialog we had a few years back

        Was wondering where you were located. physicality. you know I thought India?

        Well it has been a long time. \

        I live in Canada. At that time the internet was just a world full of great people. I remember you.

        I do not type that much anymore.Ok sign off now.

        Peace be with you

  3. paarsurrey Says:

    Hi Paul

    Thank you for remembring me. I have come to Canada and I live in Toronto.

    paarsurrey

  4. Sadahatama Oba Mage Says:

    Sadahatama Oba Mage

    Why striking resemblance between the moral teaching of the Buddha and that of Jesus??!! | paarsurrey

Leave a Reply

