Seeing apparitions of Mary and Jesus

I have noticed some Christians claim seeing apparition of Mary or Jesus. I have always wondered if they saw somebody, and I don’t doubt that they have not seen something, as to how they identify somebody as Mary or Jesus that appeared to them. How could they be able to recognize one whom they did not see while one was alive in one’s real life? Nevertheless; I never had such experience myself so it is quite natural that I cannot benefit from their private experience. We humans could share only reasonable and rational things a common tool of understanding between us; I think everybody will agree with me. More so because there are no standard features of Mary or Jesus described in the Bible; and those who claim to have seen them as apparitions also differ a lot.

I quote here from a Christian site in connection with Mary’s apparitions:

“The apparition appeared on the domes of the church for up to two hours or more at a time, always at night, but not every night and not at regular times. The Lady appeared in glittering light—so bright that her features could not be clearly seen—which streamed across the church. She was invariably preceded or accompanied by luminous “doves,” “strange bird-like creatures made of light,” which did not flap their wings but glided.”

http://www.inplainsite.org/html/apparitions_of_the_virgin_mary.html

Reason could benefit from Revelation; if it is in the original words and language (with its text and the context fully preserved); and if it was revealed on a human messenger prophet of one true God.

As to the Word revealed on Jesus and Mary; the above condition of reason and rationality is non-existent in their case.
In addition to the above the gospel writers or scribes wrote things with a purpose; Christians sometimes do mention it; that makes their writings biased; not fit to be trusted, in my opinion.

One has a right to differ with me; as do anybody else; I agree.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Seeing apparitions of Mary and Jesus”

  1. Hank Kimball (@HankKimball1) Says:

    Whenever I see or hear someone say that they experienced something they determined to be “of God”; I know that it could be so.
    There are more supernatural powers than God’s supernatural power. Although, according to the Bible, there is only one true God. The bible talks of many gods, but always, claiming there is ONLY one God that is ALL powerful. Psalms 83 : 18 “That people may know that you, whose name is Jehovah,
    You alone are the Most High over all the earth”.
    Most people make up there own mind about God early on in their lives. They get impressed with a sort of punishing God or hear about no god at all. It is God being placed in such an unapproachable and unattractive ‘place’ that it is no wonder. With religion, each one says to the other; “We are right, and you are wrong.” . The TV evangelist tell us all we need is to “get saved” or burn in hell- forever and ever. Then scandals involving prostitution, child molestation, and greed, among our most trusted spiritual leaders. If we have the discernment to see it, we see all the terrorism justified by people claiming the guidance of God. Of course we aren’t going to listen to anyone claiming to know ‘the truth’ about it all. That’s just one more person trying to sell us their own ideas about God. I believe God knows and sees all these obstacles..Until a person comes up against calamity in his or her life, that is beyond their own power and human resources to fix, the God question has been neatly evaded or entirely ignored, sometime before.
    When all is said and done, there is one way, we can get to know God’s plan for humanity, All who preach about God and the good news, agree upon. That is the bible. God has left us His word. Romans 3, verse 4:’But let God be found true, though every man be found a liar, even as it is written: “That you might be proved righteous in your words and might win when you are being judged”.’The bible can even prove to those that honestly seek God that the bible is from God. THAT’S probably the truth that I wanted to know before anything else. What is the point of studying the bible unless I believe it really is God’s word.? The idea of using scripture to interpret scripture is a sure way to finding out about God, Jesus, and the good news the bible proclaims. I absolutely did not believe this up until a few months ago. I had been praying for most of 25 years. I had formed many ideas about God and spirituality in that time. I have never heard anyone ever say that they honestly sought God and as a result came to believe that God wasn’t. The only people that say prayer doesn’t work are people that have never prayed for any consistent amount of time. I had come very far through prayer and meditation. I had gotten a good handle on my own selfishness and fear and made good headway in becoming more unselfish and faithful by applying the principle of seeking God and helping others. I doubt my prayer life would have lasted as long without the latter. I absolutely never imagined I would go to any church, never mind seek it out. At the same time I also wanted more insight into the bible. I have always believed that the world we live in, that is, the systems that we live by in the world, will be destroyed by those systems, UNLESS there’s an intervention. For some time I inwardly new that only God can change the course of this mess. If God IS, and intervention IS going to happen, it MUST be in His word, IF the bible is God’s word like it is said by ALL religions, then I want to now precisely how it is going to happen, and when it is going to happen. I also want to be doing what I am suppose to be doing according to God and NOT some human from a podium, when the , you know what, hits the fan!. Over the last 35 years of my life this particular organized religion has sort of ‘popped up’ from time to time in my life. Looking back, I was in need of what those experiences gave to me, spiritually. One time I had actually just finished asking God to remove some anger I had building inside me, heard a knock at the door, got up off my knees, answered the door, and it was THEM! Just so happens the two that were at the door, had an article in the form of a magazine, that was all about ANGER. I mean the WHOLE magazine was on ANGER. It was all based on just about everything the bible says about being human and trying to manage anger. How it affects the body. How it blocks us from God. How we justify holding on to it. Exactly what I can do to have God remove it when it crops up. No where does the bible say that anger is bad or a sin or evil. Holding onto it and causing harm to others IS. It was no accident it happened. They left,and I realized my anger had vanished, and I realized I actually owed the person I was made at, an apology! That’s God. Not many experiences with God are that clear to me. I was always “all set” so I never really felt a need to commit to any religion. If you asked me to go to your church,I would go. I wasn’t gonna join your church, but I would always go to any church a friend asked me to. Not because of the church, but because my friend asked me to go. I had come to understand that ALL people have a need for spirituality or God. That just so happens to be what I believe. Being prejudice or intolerant of ANY one’s believes makes me less useful to them. I am not pious. In order for me to receive power and direction from God that I depend on, I MUST try to be helpful. It’s the deal God made with me some time ago. Besides, if a man really has faith, that man should have no problem going to the worst spot on earth with such motives. The bible says at Proverbs 1:.32 -33 ;For the renegading of the inexperienced ones is what will kill them, and the easygoingness of the stupid is what will destroy them. As for the one listening to me, he will reside in security and be undisturbed from dread of calamity.” There is no such thing as a ‘personal’ interpretation of God’s word. That may sound narrow minded or even belligerent. The way I see it; If God’s word IS God’s word, then how could what God wants us to know in any given scripture mean anything different than what it is actually stating ? It can only be made clear, if questionable, by more scripture. There are people that can show one the answers to their questions, without exhibitionism or preaching from the pulpit about it.. If the church you go to cannot answer any question you have about God’s word, is that ok with you? If there is going to be an intervention in this world, do you think a good understanding of the bible is important ? Why is it that so many religions claim the bible as the basis for what they believe, but each religion claims the same thing. That what they believe is truth, and what other religions believe is not the truth.
    Nowadays there are new religions sprouting up. One inparticular is very popular with young people. It is very laid back and open to any believes about God that there is. Very appealing, eh? It sounds sooo spiritual. Revelation 12: 7-12: And war broke out in heaven: Mi′cha‧el and his angels battled with the dragon, and the dragon and its angels battled but it did not prevail, neither was a place found for them any longer in heaven. So down the great dragon was hurled, the original serpent, the one called Devil and Satan, who is misleading the entire inhabited earth; he was hurled down to the earth, and his angels were hurled down with him. And I heard a loud voice in heaven say:“Now have come to pass the salvation and the power and the kingdom of our God and the authority of his Christ, because the accuser of our brothers has been hurled down, who accuses them day and night before our God! And they conquered him because of the blood of the Lamb and because of the word of their witnessing, and they did not love their souls even in the face of death. On this account be glad, ​YOU​ heavens and ​YOU​ who reside in them! Woe for the earth and for the sea, because the Devil has come down to ​YOU, having great anger, knowing he has a short period of time.”
    That time is NOW. Satan’s plan is to convince you that he is NOT. It is Satan’s effort to separate man from God. Tell for yourselves if we are living in the ‘last days’ that the bible prophesies about. Look at 2 Timothy 3: 1- 7; ” But know this, that in the last days critical times hard to deal with will be here. For men will be lovers of themselves, lovers of money, self‐assuming, haughty, blasphemers, disobedient to parents, unthankful, disloyal, having no natural affection, not open to any agreement, slanderers, without self‐control, fierce, without love of goodness, betrayers, headstrong, puffed up [with pride], lovers of pleasures rather than lovers of God, having a form of godly devotion but proving false to its power; and from these turn away. For from these arise those men who slyly work their way into households and lead as their captives weak women loaded down with sins, led by various desires, always learning and yet never able to come to an accurate knowledge of truth”.
    The bible I read DOES NOT prophesies that it is a choice of either living in heaven with God and Jesus or burning in hell next to Charles Manson forever and ever. .Find out what the bible says for yourself.
    There’s only 1 organized religion that has gone back to the original Hebrew scriptures,(the old testament) by the governing body of that religion, and over the course of 10 years translated it into the English language. Over an additional 10 years translated the Greek scriptures(new testament) into the English language.
    There is a warning to anyone messy with the bible from God; Revelation 22: 18-19“I am bearing witness to everyone that hears the words of the prophecy of this scroll: If anyone makes an addition to these things, God will add to him the plagues that are written in this scroll; and if anyone takes anything away from the words of the scroll of this prophecy, God will take his portion away from the trees of life and out of the holy city, things which are written about in this scroll.”
    20 years of painstaking work translating scripture so we can know God’s word. Who does that ? Who would take the TIME to do such a thing. NOW THAT takes faith!

  2. The text of Bible is not preserved in its original form | paarsurrey Says:

    […] http://paarsurrey.wordpress.com/2013/04/18/seeing-the-apparitions-of-mary-and-jesus/#comment-2484 […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

